Sunburn Festival Diaries

Posted on

My story at India biggest party ….. WOOOO !!!!

Sunburn Festival

2009

I first went to the Sunburn Festival in 2009. The resonance of the festival, organized by Percept, an Entertainment, Media and Communications conglomerate, hooted and banged the mood of thousands from noon to dawn. The year 2009 stirred up to ‘Dance Till Dawn,’ making the Sunburn Festival a twenty-four hour festival. As usual the boomy mike was on the hand of Nikhil Chinapa, who hosted the house of trance, music and dance since the inception of the Sunburn Festival from 2007.

sunburn

I pushed my luck on my lack of knowledge on Sunburn Festival and was prosecuted for this.

I was wearing a pair of jeans, an informal collarless short-sleeved shirt saying, ‘ESCAPED TO FENI TAN & BIKINI SCAN,’ and a pair of sneakers without socks. Whereas my partner Sonam, who perked me up to the trance, was wearing a pair of hot pants, a sleeveless tee saying, ‘MAKE IT LARGE AND GET RECHARGED,’ and a pair of canvas shoes.

Sonam was BANG on the dippy groove that was quaking by the rhythm of its own exuberance. The vibe of voices and splash of lights reached their euphonic height in the blazing crescendo of sounds and lights. The girl whom I discovered last year having a retro look has actually knocked over a hundred trendy hearts when she broke her body parts rhythmically on the nights from 27th to 29th December, 2009.
SUNBURN FESTIVAL 2013

That was a monster line up of quality music from 12 noon to 10 pm. The moods clenched to heat up till dawn, from 10.30 pm to 5 am, launching the ‘Sunburn After Dark’ series in 2009. Sonam was the ‘Funky Go Poppy Girl’ who was in a red tunic and wore Hawaiian style headgear with white and yellow flowers. She looked alike the typical Goan even though she is from the land of Kurukshetra.

From our memories of Sunburn Festival 2009 and from her cam, I could see the thousands that were thrummed into a state of trance beaten by the Dutch DJ Armin van Buuren along with Latin House DJs Roger Sanchez and John. Further the night was electrified with more music from tech house DJ Sultan and trance DJ Sander Van Doorn. She didn’t even miss the fusion of music and play. The Sunburn Festival also presented acts that included Jalebee Cartel, DJ Pearl, Ma Faiza, Nawed Khan and Designer Hippies. There she was in India’s biggest electronic music and dance festival.

I missed out on version 10 and 11…MY BAD !!!!

Festival Diaries

2012

Last year she was coasting on the fusion, with her chic elegance and gentility she appeared dandy. As her every step broke on the beat and thousands hollered and ramped to the same music, she stirred my body part by part. Was that the effect created by Sander an Doorn or was that the ambiance? Well, that was my first visit and it was the Sunburn Festival 2012. I was totally executed from what I was, to a person whom I met for the first time.

2012-Sunburn

That was the day, from the noon of 27th December 2012 to the dawn of 28th, I lasted on with the boogieing spirit that fired up from the alliance of beats and heels on the first stroke of the SUNBURN FESTIVAL 2012. I felt the heat of the burning trance that illumed the serene ambience to a smoke of jubilance. The culinary alleys and shopping arrays where also shaking along with the vibrating floor of India’s best electronic dance music festival.

I was fully spirited. Lucky enough Percept had good collection of liquors from Breezers to Beers and from Whisky to Wine. Those fluids actually acted like drops of fuel and kept thousands on the roll like a coaster. I missed out the 28th day and so I missed the show of Fedde Le Grand and W & W. But the effects of 27th were still splashing bright and pitching fine.

I can’t remember how much I ate and poured. When I woke on the hungover morning of 29th December 2012, I was still burping many a cocktail of feni-whiskey-vodka. My back was aching, like a porter who had carried 50 kg of sacks from the foothills to the base camp of Everest. But I was still on my feet reclining like Jonny Depp from the Hollywood flick, ‘Pirates of the Caribbean’. Savvy!!!

I booted up to hit the dance floor with Sonam once again. The last days headliners were Paul Van dyk , Roger Sanchez. Further on into the night the ambiance swayed to and fro with the voices and beats from James Zabiela, Paul Thomas and Dirty Vegas.

Sunburn Goa

2013 – what I am looking forward to…

The year 2009 had a turnout of over 35000 fans. The beats peaking with wobble and jump in 2010 the Sunburn Festival received  more than 45000 along with monster line up from Paul Van Dyk, Ferry Corsten , Axwell, Sultan & Ned Shepard with Nadia Ali(Live), Richard Durand, GMS, Pete Gooding, Aly & Fila and DJs Pearl, Ma Faiza, Anish Sood and Sanjay Dutta.

Furthermore the unique features of the Sunburn Festival were the Flea Market, Volleyball Court, Massage Center and Spa, Rock Climbing. In the year 2010, Moonwalker, Sunset lounge, Slippery Football, Slippery Volleyball, The Shacks and experimental stage were added. In the year 2012 when we got our passes for the Sunburn Festival, Sonam and I got to know that the festival has already enraptured the hearts of Delhiites and Sri Lankans. Nonetheless the 29th night of December 2012 in Goa was an absolute chart buster.
Sunburn Festive Goa-2013

Yes! I feel that while the rest of India seeks warmth under their cozy blanket, here in Goa the hippies will soar to sweat on the electronic dance floor of the Sunburn Festival.

The flaming beats recur every year on the brilliant beach of Candolim breaking the tranquility that scorches on for three back-to-back December days.

The Sunburn Festival is a redefined Indian festival with a fusion of international beat and domestic trance. Over the years it won from thousands to lakhs of hearts that recur and roll over. I’m all set this year once again. The rumour is, ‘performers this year are going to be double the dance trouble and will cover the entire spectrum of dance music you should know.’

So from my frame of mind, the SUNBURN FESTIVAL 2013 is going to burn the brilliant beach of Vagator.

 

2 thoughts on “Sunburn Festival Diaries

    Victoria said:
    June 29, 2015 at 2:34 pm

    Hi there colleagues, its enormous post on the topic
    of cultureand completely explained, keep it up all the time.

    Like

    translate google apis said:
    November 28, 2015 at 2:53 am

    Nice post. I was checking continuously this weblog and I’m impressed!

    Extremely helpful info specifically the ultimate section 🙂
    I maintain such information a lot. I used to be seeking this certain info for a long time.

    Thank you and best of luck.

    Like

Leave a Reply

